Meet Licencing

3Swim Ireland operates a Meet licensing programme to seek to ensure that all swimmers will have the opportunity to swim in competitions which are specific to their ability and that competitions of relevant levels are run to the same/equivalent standard.
The Meet Licence Initiative offers three categories of competition classification in Ireland, which range from inter-club galas where no electronic timing is in place to the highest level category which would include national championship events. . The programme is designed to help support the National calendar planning process and in particular support the Long Term Athlete Development Pathway in terms of competition and training. The initiative will be managed centrally through a Meet Licence panel and will have a specified Meet Licence Coordinator.

2017/2018 Meet Licence Application Form
Meet Licencing Background Information
Meet Licencing Guidelines 2017/2018

Please note that applications will not be processed without the name of the Lead Referee or a copy of the competition paperwork that will be issued to clubs.

Regions applying for Level 2A licences and clubs applying for Level 3A licences, are required to have qualified officials in the Lead Referee role at the very least (those suitable for this role are listed here). Results from unlicensed competitions or competitions without electronic timing cannot be used to enter National Competitions. For competitions at Level 2B and 3B it is still recommended that qualified officials are used to ensure an appropriate level of competition for the swimmers involved.

All clubs who apply for a licence through this procedure, will be awarded a licence (unless there are huge concerns around Health and Safety) and Swim Ireland will work with clubs to ensure they have the appropriate personnel etc in place, to receive the highest level of licence possible.

If you have any queries or concerns regarding this process, you can contact Niamh McDonnell on or one of the Regional representatives as outlined below:

Connacht – TBC
Leinster – Pat Daly –
Munster – Joe McCarthy –
Ulster – TBC