Connacht Win Schools Interpro


The Irish Schools Inter Provincial Championships (SC) took place on Monday 5th May at the National Aquatic Centre in Dublin. The annual event sees secondary school student from Connacht, Leinster, Munster and Ulster face off for the Interprovincial Title.

Congratulations to Connacht, who were the 2014 winners. Connacht put in some outstanding performances with Ciaran Burke (100Back, 100Free), Wilson Mitchell (100Breast, 200 IM), Dearbhail McNamara (100Breast), Eoghan Grady (400Free), Andrew Moore (200IM), Keena Walsh (200IM), Michael Moran (100Fly), Gerry Quinn (100Fly, 100Free), Shona Keaveney (100Fly) and Sinead Mylett (100Free) all swimming to Gold. Connacht added 5 Relay wins to the individual performances to secure the title.

Antoinette Neamt

The standout performance of the day went to Leinster’s Antoinette Neamt (pictured above) who set a new Irish Junior SC Record in the 400m Freestyle. Antoinette claimed Gold in a time of 4:09.98 breaking the previous record of 4:11.17 held by Sycerika McMahon.  With wins in the 200IM and 100Free Neamt helped Leinster to second place overall.

Read More