Hill Breaks 15 Year Old Record to Become Fastest Ever Irish Female Swimmer

17 year old Danielle Hill made history in Bangor today as she became the fastest ever Irish female swimmer. The Larne swimmer broke Julie Douglas’ 2002 50m Freestyle record of 26.02 by eight hundreth’s of a second to clock 25.94 seconds, the fastest female swimming record (long course) in Ireland. Hill had been close to the record in 2016 when she broke the junior record in 26.08 seconds and with many using this weekend as a warm up for the Irish Open in April, Hill is sure to improve on that time in the months to come.

Hill’s Larne team mate Conor Brines was also in record breaking from this evening. Brines had been impressive this short course season breaking both the 50m and 100m Butterfly records on a number of occasions. The 21 year old tonight took his first Irish senior long course record in the 100m Butterfly final breaking Brendan Hyland’s (53.59) 2016 record in 53.34 seconds.

Mona McSharry completed the Breaststroke triple when she won gold in the 50m (31.56) event today and then took her gold medal haul to five with a win in the 200m Individual Medley (2:19.31). The 16 year old had already collected 100m and 200m Breaststroke gold as well as 100m Freestyle gold earlier this weekend.

Curtis Coulter added 50m Freestyle gold to his 100m gold in tonight’s first race. Coulter of Ards SC held off Loughborough’s Sam Irvine (23.63) to win in 23.29 seconds while UCD’s David Prendergast and Loughborough’s Martin Walton tied for third in 23.79.

Stirling’s Charlie Boldison finished his meet with a clean sweep in the Backstroke events. Adding to the 50m and 100m wins he took 200m gold in 2:03.98 just ahead of Loughborough’s Callum Barrett in 2:04.42. Boldison’s Stirling teammate Kathleen Dawson also took her gold medal tally to three in the Backstroke events, the 19 year old clocked 2:11.59 to complete the sweep. Sean Scannell, Caoimhe Quinn, Maria Godden, Rebecca Lowe and Scarlett Armstrong were all under the European Youth Olympic Festival (EYOF) consideration time in the event.

Loughborough’s Charlotte Atkinson was the only swimmer to break the minute mark in the women’s 100m Butterfly final as she cruised to victory in 59.09 seconds ahead of Emma Reid of Ards in 1:01.77. In the men’s 200m Individual Medley the Stirling trio of Duncan Scott (2:00.49), Dan Wallace (2:02.44) and Martyn Walton (2:04.20) took the medals while in the men’s 50m Breaststroke final UCD’s Alex Murphy touched first in 28.23 seconds.

The weekend’s final individual events saw Bangor’s Jack McMillan (4:01.86) and Ards’ Victoria Catterson (4:23.03) claim 400m Freestyle gold. In the same event Templeogue’s Cara Osing was under the EYOF consideration time in 4:31.30.

Visitor’s Sunderland took the men’s 400m Medley Relay in 3:58.70 while in the women’s event Ards completed a relay treble with a win in 4:25.55. It was indeed Ards who were then crowned team of the meet and awarded the Dave McCullagh Trophy for 2017.

The next meet for Irish swimmers will be the Irish Open Swimming Championships at the NAC, Dublin from April 6th – 9th.

Full Results Day 3

Men 50m Freestyle Final: 1st C Coulter Ards 23.29 2nd S Irvine Loughborough 23.63 3rd M Walton Loughborough & D Prendergast UCD 23.79

Women 50m Freestyle Final: 1st D Hill Larne 25.94 ISR 2nd M McSharry 26.13 3rd F Rayner Sunderland 26.20

Men 50m Breaststroke Final: 1st A Murphy UCD 28.23 2nd D Greene UCD 28.30 3rd C Benson Stirling28.42

Women 50m Breaststroke Final: 1st M McSharry 31.56 2nd B Atchison Loughborough 31.74 3rd M Morrison Loughborough 33.22

Men 200m Backstroke Final: 1st C Boldison Stirling 2:03.98 2nd C Barrett Loughborough 2:04.42 3rd D Hall Loughborough 2:05.08

Women 200m Backstroke Final: 1st K Dawson Stirling 2:11.59 2nd M Godden Kilkenny 2:20.41 3rd E Cassidy Dolphin 2:20.82

Men 100m Butterfly Final: 1st C Brines Larne 53.34 ISR 2nd D Scott Stirling 54.00 3rd B Hyland Tallaght 54.27

Women 100m Butterfly Final: 1st C Atkinson Loughborough 59.09 2nd E Reid Ards 1:01.77 3rd B Close Loughborough 1:02.16

Men 200m IM Final: 1st D Scott Stirling 2:00.49 2nd D Wallace Stirling 2:02.44 3rd M Walton Stirling 2:04.20

Women 200m IM Final: 1st M McSharry Marlins 2:19.31 2nd R Reid Ards 2:21.76 3rd M Morrison Loughborough 2:23.17

Men 400m Freestyle Final: 1st J McMillan Bangor 4:01.86 2nd C Munden Loughborough 4:02.18 3rd B Hyland Tallaght 4:02.86

Women 400m Freestyle Final: 1st V Catterson Ards 4:23.03 2nd E Clarke Lougborough 4:23.53 3rd L Ellis 4:24.00

Men 4x100m Medley Team Relay: 1st Sunderland 3:58.70 2nd Limerick 4:01.27 3rd Bangor 4:17.57

Women 4x100m Medley Team Relay: 1st Ards 4:25.55 2nd Trojan 4:30.87 3rd Larne 4:35.88

Consideration Times Met (selection of athletes for all events will be made at a later date)

European Junior Swimming Championships, 28th June – 2nd July 2017, Herzliya, Israel

Mona McSharry (100 Breast, 100Free, 200 Breast, 50 Free), Ellen Walshe (200Fly), Niamh Coyne (100Breast), Rebecca Reid (400 IM), Jack McMillan (200Free)

FINA World Diving, Swimming & Open Water Championships, 15th – 30th July, Budapest, Hungary

IOC European Youth Olympic Festival, 22nd – 30th July, Gyor, Hungary

Maria Godden (100 Free, 200 Free, 100 Back, 200 Back), Amelia Kane (200 Fly), Caoimhe Quinn (200 Fly, 200 Back), Julia Knox (400 IM, 200IM) Mia Davison (100 Breast), Robyn Lynch (200 Fly), Ethan Murtagh (200 Fly), Rebecca Lowe (100 Back, 200 Back), Sean Scannell (200 Back), Scarlett Armstrong (200 Back), Cara Osing (400 Free)

World University Games, 20th – 27th August, Taipei, Chinese Taipei

Rory McEvoy (50 Back), Conor Brines (50 Fly)

World Junior Swimming Championships, 23rd – 28th August, Indianapolis, USA

Mona McSharry (100 Breast, 200 Breast), Ellen Walshe (200Fly), Niamh Coyne (100Breast)

Read More