Neamt, Hyland Claim Third National Titles in Dublin

Antoinette Neamt and Brendan Hyland claimed third National Titles each tonight on Day 3 of the Irish Swimming Championships at the National Aquatic Centre (NAC) in Dublin.

13 year old Neamt who trains at Swim Ireland’s Performance Centre at the NAC swam to 400m Freestyle Gold in a personal best time of 4:19.03 tonight to add to the 200m and 800m titles she has already won this weekend. She will be back in the pool tomorrow swimming the 200m Individual Medley and 1,500m Freestyle. 14 year old Rachel Bethel from Lisburn City Swimming Club won Silver in the 400m Freestyle in a Commonwealth Games consideration** time of 4:22.76.

Neamts team-mate at the NAC Brendan Hyland also claimed a third National Title tonight winning the men’s 400m Freestyle Final in an exciting race where Hyland, finishing in 3:59.32, touched just .25 of a second ahead of Irish Record holder in the event Andrew Meegan (3:59.57). Hyland, who broke the Irish 200m Butterfly Record on Thursday, was back in the pool just minutes later in the semi-final of the 100m Butterfly where he qualified for tomorrow night’s Final.

Melanie Houghton continued her good form following her 50m Butterfly Irish Record yesterday with a win in the 100m Freestyle. Houghton’s winning time of 57.06 held off Lisburn’s Bethany Carson 58.23 who touched just ahead of UCD’s Jess Stallard 58.25. Curtis Coulter, who qualified for Commonwealth Games on the first day of competition won the men’s event in 50.78 seconds and retains the National Title for the second year.

European Championship qualifier Fiona Doyle was the clear winner in the women’s 100m Breaststroke Final. Doyle, who won the 50m Breaststroke Final on Thursday, touched in 1:09.96 ahead of European Junior Championship qualifiers Niamh Kilgallen (1:12.31) and Dearbhail McNamara (1:12.93). Castlebar’s Nicholas Quinn won the men’s event in a time of 1:02.76 while Dan Sweeney claimed Silver in 1:03.95.

Great Britain’s Danielle Lowe won the Women’s 200m Backstroke Final in a time 2:14.77 but it was Kells swimmer Laoise Fleming who claimed the National Title in 2:20.38 ahead of Emma Cassidy ( 2:21.97) of Sundays Well in Cork. In the men’s event, 16 year old Bryan O’Sullivan, who trains at Swim Ireland’s Connacht Performance Centre in Galway was third behind Danas Rapsys (2:02.22) and Eimantas Milius (2:06.01) both of Lithuania, but claimed Gold and the National Title as the first Irish swimmer home in 2:09.82.

Tonight’s final event, the 4x100m Medley Team Relays, saw Niamh Morgan, Danielle Lowe, Ali Berry and Melanie Houghton claim Gold for Aer Lingus in a time of 4:23.26 while Ards were victorious in the men’s event finishing in 3:53.27.

Competition continues tomorrow.

Full Results Day 3

Women 100m Freestyle Final: 1st M Houghton Aer Lingus 57.06 2nd B Carson Lisburn 58.23 3rd J Stallard UCD 58.25

Men 100m Freestyle Final: 1st C Coulter Ards 50.78 2nd D Rapsys Lithuania 51.11 3rd J Sloan Bangor 51.21

Women 100m Breaststroke Final: 1st F Doyle Portmarnock 1:09.97 2nd N Kilgallen Claremorris 1:12.31 3rd D McNamara 1:12.93

Men 100m Breaststroke Final: 1st N Quinn Castlebar 1:02.76 2nd D Sweeney Sundays Well 1:03.95 3rd P Grigaliunas Lithuania 1:04.41

Women 400m Freestyle Final: 1st A Neamt Tallaght 4:19.03 2nd R Bethel Lisburn 4:22.76 3rd T Corry Portmarnock 4:27.85

Men 400m Freestyle Final: 1st B Hyland Tallaght 3:59.32 2nd A Meegan Aer Lingus 3:59.57 3rd B Gibbons Athlone 4:02.78

Women 200m Backstroke Final: 1st D Lowe Aer Lingus 2:14.77 2nd Laoise Fleming Kells 2:20.38 3rd Emma Cassidy Sundays Well 2:21.97

Men 200m Backstroke Final: 1st D Rapsys Lithuania 2:02.22 2nd E Milius Lithuania 2:06.01 3rd B O’Sullivan Galway 2:09.82

Women 4x100m Medley Team Relay: 1st Aer Lingus 4:23.26 2nd Sundays Well 4:40.17 3rd Glenalbyn 4:51.44

Men 4x100m Medley Team Relay: 1st Ards 3:53.27 2nd Bangor 3:59.69 3rd Aer Lingus 4:03.72


European Junior Championships, 9th – 13th July 2014, Dordrecht, Holland

Qualifiers: Dearbhail McNamara (100m & 200m Breaststroke), Niamh Kilgallen (100m & 200m Breaststroke), Gemma Kane (200m Butterfly) Ben Griffin (400m IM)

Commonwealth Games, 23rd July – 4th August, Glasgow, Scotland

Qualifiers (Nomination times):Sycerika McMahon (50m, 100m, 200m Breaststroke, 400m Freestyle, 200m IM), Michael Dawson (50m Breaststroke), Curtis Coulter (100m Freestyle)

*Nomination Time – Equivalent to A Time

**Consideration Time – Equivalent to B Time

IPC European Swimming Championships, 4th – 10th August 2014, Eindhoven, Netherlands

Qualifiers: Ellen Keane (S9 100m Butterfly, 200m IM, SB8 100m Breaststroke), Laurence McGivern (S9 100m Backstroke), Jonathan McGrath (S8 400m Freestyle), Darragh McDonald (S6 400m Freestyle), James Scully (S5 200m Freestyle)  Ailbhe Kelly (100m, 400m Freestyle, 100m Backstroke)

European LC Swimming & Open Water Championships, 13th- 24th August 2014, Berlin, Germany

Qualifiers: Brendan Hyland (200m Butterfly), Dan Sweeney (200m Breaststroke) Nicholas Quinn (200m Breaststroke) Barry Murphy (50m Breaststroke) Fiona Doyle (50m, 100m, 200m Breaststroke), Sycerika McMahon (50m, 100m, 200m Breaststroke, 200m IM), Christopher Bryan (Open Water)

Read More