Six Irish Records Fall on Final Day of Swimming Championships

Swimmers continued to impress on the final day of competition at the Irish Short Course Swimming Championships in Lisburn with six new Irish Records bringing the total to fourteen Records over the three days.

Andrew Meegan was the star of the show when he became the first Irishman to swim under 8 minutes in the 800m Freestyle. Meegan, who held the previous record of 8:00.59 which he set in January 2012, lowered that time to 7:59.92 in tonight’s Final. This swim will give him confidence going into the European Championships later this month.

Second place in the 800m Freestyle Final went to Brendan Gibbons in a new Irish Junior Record of 8:06.29 breaking his previous record of 8:09.02 which was set just yesterday. Both Meegan and Gibbons train at Swim Ireland’s NAC Performance Centre in Dublin.

Having already picked up Silver in both the 800m and 400m Freestyle, Antoinette Neamt raced to Gold in the 1500m Freestyle Final in a new Irish Junior Record of 16:40.22. Neamt, who is also a full time member of the NAC Performance Centre finished over 40 seconds ahead of second place Ali Berry (17:20.30) and Lucy Gaynor (17:46.50).

Shauna O’Brien broke her second Senior Record of the championship, this time in the 50m Butterfly Final. O’Brien’s time of 27.14 knocked .16 of a second off the previous record that she had set at the 2012 championships. Barry Murphy won the men’s event in 23.93 seconds.

Grainne Murphy picked up her third Gold medal of the championships in the 400m Individual Medley Final with a time of 4:52.73. In the men’s event, Brendan Hyland also brought his national title tally to three with the win in 4:21.38 ahead of Ben Griffin (4:29.78) and Ronan Anderson (4:32.39).

Chelsey Wilson added to her 200m Backstroke title with a win in the 100m Backstroke in a time of 1:02.54 while in the men’s event Brian O’Sullivan set his sixth Irish Junior Record of the weekend. O’Sullivan had broken the previous record of 55.53 in the morning’s heat with a swim of 55.52 seconds, he then lowered that time in the final to take Gold in 54.17.

Both the women’s and men’s 200m Freestyle Finals made for exciting viewing with Bethany Carson of Lisburn taking the spoils in the women’s event in 2:00.84 and Curtis Coulter touching in 1:49.47 in the men’s, just half a second ahead of Brendan Hyland (1:50.08).

Niamh Kilgallen and Dearbhail McNamara battled it out in their 3rd Breaststroke event of the weekend in the 200m Final. Kilgallen had already won the 50m and 100m Breaststroke titles but it was McNamara who touched first in the 200m with a time of 2:30.75. Galway’s Andrew Moore won the men’s event in 2:20.99.

In the final event of the weekend Galway’s women (1:49.15) and Ards Men (1:33.27) won Gold in the 4x50m Freestyle Relays.

Grainne Murphy’s 400m Freestyle swim on Saturday secured her the “Larry Williamson Memorial Trophy” which is awarded for the Swim of the Meet. The trophy is awarded to the swimmer who swims closest to a World Record time over the three days of competition.

- END –

Results Day 3

Women 1500m Freestyle Final: 1st A Neamt Tallaght 16:40.22 IJR 2nd A Berry Aer Lingus 17:20.30 3rd L Gaynor Glenalbyn 17:46.50 Men 800m Freestyle Final: 1st A Meegan Aer Lingus 7:59.92 ISR 2nd B Gibbons Athlone 8:06.29 IJR 3rd C Bryan Ennis 8:21.55 Women 400m IM Final: 1st G Murphy New Ross 4:52.73 2nd K Walsh Galway 4:56.00 3rd N Morgan Aer Lingus 5:02.04 Men 400m IM Final: 1st B Hyland Tallaght 4:21.38 2nd B Griffin Aer Lingus 4:29.78 3rd R Anderson 4:32.39 Women 50m Butterfly Final: 1st S O’Brien UCD 27.14 ISR 2nd M Houghton Aer Lingus 27.50 3rd B Firth Ards 28.39 Men 50m Butterfly Final: 1st B Murphy Aer Lingus 23.93 2nd B O’Sullivan UCD 24.60 3rd C Duffy Galway 25.70 Women 200m Freestyle Final: 1st B Carson Lisburn 2:00.84 2nd MK McDowell Bangor 2:03.52 3rd T Dunne Ballina 2:03.85 Men 200m Freestyle Final: 1st C Coulter Ards 1:49.47 2nd B Hyland Tallaght 1:50.08 3rd B Cahill Ennis 1:50.32 Women 100m Backstroke Final: 1st C Wilson Enniskillen 1:02.54 2nd L Fleming Kells 1:03.13 3rd B Firth Ards 1:03.48 Men 100m Backstroke Final: 1st B O’Sullivan UCD 54.17 IJR 2nd D Prendergast UCD 54.92 3rd C Ferguson Larne 57.51 Women 200m Breaststroke Final: 1st D McNamara Westport 2:30.75 2nd N Kilgallon Claremorris 2:31.94 3rd N Bryson Tallaght 2:39.21 Men 200m Breaststroke Final: 1st A Moore Galway 2:20.99 2nd D Greene Longford 2:21.28 3rd B Griffin 2:21.29 Women 4x50m Medley Relay: 1st Ards 2:01.01 2nd Bangor 2:01.83 3rd Aer Lingus 2:02.30 Men 4x50m Medley Relay: 1st Ards 1:44.84 2nd Aer Lingus 1:46.00 3rd Bangor 1:47.96 Women 4x50m Freestyle Relay: 1st Galway 1:49.14 2nd Ards 1:49.30 3rd Sundays Well 1:50.89 Men 4x50m Freestyle Relay: 1st Ards 1:33.27 2nd Aer Lingus 1:34.63 3rd Bangor 1:37.14

Read More