February 22, 2019

Swim Ireland’s McCullagh International Meet got underway today with over 500 swimmers from almost 80 clubs competing across three days of competition at the Bangor Aurora leisure Centre in Co. Down.

National Centre Limerick’s Eoin Corby broke the first national record of 2019 in the morning heat’s of the 100m Breaststroke. The 16-year-old lowered Michael Dawson’s 2009 Irish Junior Record of 1:02.72 to 1:02.65. Corby went on to claim the silver medal in tonight’s final in 1:02.73 behind National Centre Dublin (NCD) swimmer and Irish Senior Record holder Darragh Greene (1:01.40). World Youth Olympic Games medallist Niamh Coyne dominated the women’s final for gold in 1:08.83 ahead of Aer Lingus’ Aisling Haughey and Coyne’s NCD team mate Niamh Kilgallen (1:12.86).

National Centre Dublin swimmers completed a clean sweep in the blue riband 100m Freestyle Final. 2018 World and European medallist Shane Ryan (49.96) was joined on the podium by his team mates Robbie Powell (50.86) and Jordan Sloan (50.87). In the women’s event London Swimming’s Caroline Lewitt (57.86) and Anna Podurgiel (58.01) came home ahead of Kilkenny’s Naomi Trait (58.66).

Irish record holder and seven-time national champion Brendan Hyland (NCD) won the 200m Butterfly Final. Hyland cruised to victory in 2:00.05 ahead of National Centre Limerick’s Cillian Melly (2:01.46) and Ards’ Paddy Johnston (2:05.79). Templeogue’s Ellen Walshe held off a chasing Lucy Thornton (London Swimming) to claim the women’s gold medal touching in 2:15.90, Thornton took silver in 2:16.61.

London Region’s Ally Larson claimed the first gold medal of the evening when she touched in 4:52.38 in the 400m Individual Medley Final, Amelia Kane was the first Irish swimmer home for silver in 4:54.48.

National Centre Dublin’s Rory McEvoy took the first of the weekend’s sprint titles with an impressive 26.41 swim in the Men’s 50m Backstroke Final. Larne’s Danielle Hill won the women’s final clocking 29.45.

Jack Buswell and Jackson O’Rourke went head to head for the duration of the men’s 800m Freestyle Final, only nine hundredths of a second separated the East Midlands duo in the end, Buswell eventually taking the win in 8:30.76 ahead of O’Rourke in 8:30.85.  Fleur Lewis (17:06.74) was the clear winner in the 1500m Freestyle Final. Lewis had almost 30 seconds to spare over her London Swimming team mate Cara O’Toole (17:33.25). 

Relays at the McCullagh International will act as National Championships this year. As such, Ards Swimming Club dominated the two women’s relays today taking the national titles in both the 4x200m Freestyle and 4x100m Medley Events. Amelia Kane, Ellie McKibbin, Rebecca Reid and Victoria Catterson combined for a time of 8:36.91 in the Freestyle event while Reid, McKibbin and Catterson were joined by Scarlett Armstrong to take the Medley title in 4:26.64.

Lisburn were crowned national champions in the men’s Freestyle Final; Dylan Griffiths, Daniel Wiffen, Odhran Mallon and James Allison touching in 7:58.51, while Limerick were first home in the Medley event, Eoin Corby, joined by brother Alan, Jeremy O’Connor and Jack Grace topped the podium in 3:55.27.

Ards’ Grace Davison took the first of today’s junior finals. The 12-year-old claimed gold in the 400m Individual Medley in 5:28.50 ahead of Dolphin’s Cara McCormack (5:38.92). In the boy’s final Davison’s Ards team mate Matthew Hand touched home first in 5:01.28 just ahead of Sligo’s Ronan Kilcoyne (5:02.35).

Aoife Doran of Aer Lingus was the clear winner in the girls 400m Freestyle Final clocking 4:52.34 while New Ross’ Evan Bailey touched in 4:31.10 in the boys final.

Competition continues tomorrow through to Sunday.                                      


  Full Results available HERE