February 22, 2020

Ireland’s Danielle Hill took her impressive short course (25m) season through to long course (50m) with a smashing new Irish Record in the 100m Backstroke at the McCullagh International in Bangor this morning.

Larne’s Hill had held the previous mark at 1:01.08 from last Summer, she lowered that to 1:00.90 today for silver at the McCullagh Meet. Kathleen Dawson of Stirling, a European medallist, won gold in 1:00.28.

Loughborough’s Luke Greenbank took the win in the men’s 100m Backstroke in 55.02. National Centre Dublin’s Shane Ryan finished with silver in 55.18 after leading for 75 metres of the race, while Larne’s Conor Ferguson completed the podium in 55.50.

Marlins Mona McSharry took her second gold and third medal of the meet in the women’s 50m Butterfly Final. McSharry touched in 27.14 ahead of Loughborough’s Harriet West (27.46) and Templeogue’s Ellen Walshe (27.79).

Calum Bain was the only swimmer to break 25 seconds in the men’s event clocking 24.60. The Cookstown swimmer won ahead of Loughborough’s Zac Aitchison (25.01) and Ards’ Michael Hewitt (25.20).

McSharry was back on the podium in the 200m Breaststroke for a silver medal behind Loughborough’s Molly Renshaw (2:26.79). The twenty-year olds time of 2:28.22 was just off her own Irish Record (2:27.44). World silver medallist James Wilby of Loughborough took the honours in the men’s event in 2:11.23, followed by Stirling’s Ross Murdoch in 2:13.04 and Irish Junior Record holder Eoin Corby in 2:14.66.

Loughborough’s Max Litchfield added to 200m Butterfly gold with a dominant performance in the Men’s 400m Individual Medley Final where he was 10 seconds ahead of silver medallist Cadan McCarthy (4:34.45) of National Centre Limerick in 4:19.81.

There was a British sweep in the women’s 200m Freestyle Final as Loughborough’s Abbie Wood took the win in 1:59.96, the only swimmer under two minutes. Wood was followed home by Sunderland’s Alys Thomas in 2:00.54 and Stirling’s Aimee Wilmott (2:00.96).

Stirling’s Duncan Scott bettered his time from heats to 1:47.06 to win the men’s event, Scott’s time the fifth fastest in the world this year. Bangor’s Jack McMillan was impressive to take silver in 1:48.28, his second fastest time ever in the event, only a 1:48.00 from World Championships in 2019 faster.

Daniel Jervis of Sunderland added 1500m Freestyle gold to the 800m he won yesterday as he cruised to the win in 15:09.35 ahead of Northampton’s Jackson O’Rourke (15:25.21).

In today’s junior events, Ards’ Grave Davison was impressive as she won the girls 200m Individual Medley in 2:29.12 ahead of Banbridge’s Katie McFarlane (2:35.03) and Templemore’s Rosie Whitten (2:36.81). Davison was back atop the podium for the girls 200m Breaststroke Final clocking 2:48.67, Ava Jones of Portmarnock was second in 2:51.59 and Banbridge’s Darcy Walker third in 2:56.63.

Banbridge’s Katie MacFarlane and Ards’ Zophia Quigley went stroke for stroke in the girls 200m Butterfly Final, MacFarlane eventually getting to the wall in 2:33.03 ahead of Quigley’s 2:33.43. Trojan’s Hannah Poynton was third in 2:46.64.

In the boys 200m Freestyle Scotland’s Stefan Krawiec broke two-minutes to win gold in 1:59.32, Sunderland’s Luke McGee was the silver medallist in 2:01.98. Krawiec then went on to pick up a silver medal in the 200m Backstroke in 2:18.77, gold going to Derwentside’s Thomas Maskell in 2:16.79. Chelsea and Westminster’s Edward Whittle won bronze in both boy’s events.

Results Day 3 Finals

Men 400m IM: 1st M Litchfield Loughborough 4:19.81 2nd C McCarthy National Centre Limerick 4:34.45 3rd Tony-Joe Trett-Oliver Stirling 4:38.67

Women 50m Butterfly: 1st M McSharry Marlins 27.14 2nd H West Loughborough 27.46 3rd E Walshe Templeogue 27.79

Men 50m Butterfly: 1st C Bain Cookstown 24.60 2nd Z Aitchison Stirling 25.01 3rd M Hewitt Ards 25.20

Girls 12/13 200m IM: 1st G Davison Ards 2:29.12 2nd K McFarlane Banbridge 2:35.03 3rd R Whitten Templemore 2:36.81

Women 200m Freestyle: 1st A Wood Loughborough 1:59.96 2nd A Thomas Sunderland 2:00.54 3rd A Wilmott Stirling 2:00.96

Men 200m Freestyle: 1st D Scott Stirling 1:47.06 2nd J McMillan Bangor 1:48.28 3rd S Milne Perth City 1:49.23

Boys 12-14 200m Freestyle: 1st S Krawiec Scotland 1:59.32 2nd L McGee Sunderland 2:01.98 3rd E Whittles Chelsea & Westminster 2:02.75

Women 100m Backstroke: 1st K Dawson Stirling 1:00.28 2nd D Hill Larne 1:00.90 ISR 3rd M Harris Wales 1:02.82

Men 100m Backstroke: 1st L Greenbank Loughborough 55.02 2nd S Ryan National Centre Dublin 55.18 3rd C Ferguson Larne 55.50

Girls 12/12 200m Breaststroke: 1st G Davison Ards 2:48.67 2nd A Jones Portmarnock 2:51.59 3rd D Walker Banbridge 2:56.62

Women 200m Breaststroke: 1st M Renshaw Loughborough 2:26.79 2nd M McSharry Marlins 2:28.22 3rd H Miley Aberdeen 2:31.78

Men 200m Breaststroke: 1st J Wilby Loughborough 2:11.23 2nd R Murdoch Stirling 2:13.04 3rd E Corby National Centre Limerick 2:14.66

Boys 12-14 200m Backstroke: 1st T Maskell Derwentside 2:16.79 2nd S Krawiec Scotland 2:18.77 3rd E Whittles Chelsea & Westminster 2:18.87

Girls 12/12 200m Butterfly: 1st K MacFarlane Banbridge 2:33.03 2nd Z Quigley Ards 2:33.43 3rd H Poynton Trojan 2:46.64

Men 1500m Freestyle: 1st D Jervis Sunderland 15:09.35 2nd J O’Rourke Northampton 15:25.21 3rd L McLaughlin Scotland 16:32.03

Women 800m Freestyle: 1st A Kane Ards 9:09.32 2nd G Hodgins Trojan 9:09.93 3rd K Bailey Perth City 9:10.02