December 12, 2019

Irish records continued to be shattered as Swim Ireland’s Irish Short Course Swimming Championships got underway at the Sport Ireland National Aquatic Centre, Dublin today. Last week swimmers broke 20 Irish Records at the European Short Course Championships in Glasgow where Mona McSharry and Shane Ryan both took home bronze medals.

Tonight, Danielle Hill, Brendan Hyland, Daniel Wiffen, Shane Ryan and Paddy Johnston all produced new Irish standards while five Irish Relay Records fell to leave the day one tally at eleven Irish Records.

Hill, who broke the minute mark in the 100m Backstroke for the first time in Glasgow, took another .33 off the time of 58.62 she swam in the semi-final in Glasgow to claim her first gold medal of the meet. And, just minutes later the Larne swimmer returned for a second gold in the 50m Freestyle touching in 24.78.

Daniel Wiffen opened the evening session with a new Irish Senior and Junior Record in the 800m Freestyle. Wiffen is only the second Irishman to break the 8-minute-mark in the event, smashing through it in 7:54.15 to break Andrew Meegan’s 2013 standard of 7:59.92.

Brendan Hyland, who broke the 400m Individual Medley Irish Record on Thursday last, took down the 200m IM record this evening. Hyland clocked 1:56.74 to take .2 off James Brown’s record, set just last week.

With a continued focus on cementing relay team qualification for one or more of our relays for the 2020 Olympic Games in Tokyo (which would be the first time this has occurred since 1972), opportunities to develop a stronger and more prominent relay culture within our swimming ranks are being taken as often as possible and this week a number of Ireland Relays will swim Exhibition Swims.

Tonight, saw Ireland Women’s and Men’s Senior and Junior teams take on the 400m Freestyle Relay where all four Irish Records were decimated. The Women’s Senior team took 13 seconds off the 1991 record of 3:54.72 touching in 3:41.09 while the Junior Women also knocked 13 seconds off the irish junior standard of 4:01.07 in 3:48.21.

In the Men’s race, Shane Ryan lead off in a new 100m Freestyle Irish Senior Record of 46.68, the team clocked 3:10.19, the previous record had stood at 3:24.66 from 1994. The juniors took 10 seconds off the old standard of 3:32.96 in 3:22.02.

Earlier today Bangor men broke their own 4x50m Freestyle Irish club relay record in 1:27.70 while Aer Lingus, for the second year, won the women’s final in 1:45.82.

Also, in action today, Templeogue’s Ellen Walshe won the women’s 200m Butterfly in 2:09.94, Cillian Melly (NCL) was the gold medallist in the Men’s event in 1:58.15. Rory McEvoy was first home in the men’s 100m Backstroke in 53.59, David Thompson topped the podium in the Men’s 50m Freestyle while Ards’ Rebecca Reid was the 200m IM winner in 2:15.34.

Competition continues tomorrow through to Sunday

Day 1 Results:

Men 800m Freestyle: 1st Daniel Wiffen Lisburn 7:54.15 ISR/IJR 2nd Liam Custer Sundays Well 8:06.74 3rd Nathan Wiffen Lisburn 8:20.51

Women 200m Butterfly: 1st Ellen Walshe Templeogue 2:09.94 2nd Eline Vik SNDNS 2:14.31* / Amelia Kane Ards 2:15.79 3rd Ellie McKibbin Ards 2:18.84

Men 200m Butterfly: 1st Cillian Melly National Centre Limerick 1:58.15 2nd Paddy Johnston Ards 1:58.96 IJR 3rd Ethan Hansen NCD/Trojan 1:59.82

Women 100m Backstroke: 1st Danielle Hill Larne 58.29 ISR 2nd Katelyn Bergin Aer Lingus 1:00.60 3rd Maria Godden Kilkenny 1:00.83

Men 100m Backstroke: 1st Rory McEvoy NCD 53.59 2nd Sean Scannell NCD 54.56 3rd Tainyu Zhou China 55.75* / Sean McNicholl Templeogue 56.17

Women 50m Freestyle: 1st Danielle Hill Larne 24.78 2nd Mona McSharry Marlins 25.19 3rd Tina Tang China 25.31* / Niamh Kilgallen NCD 25.59

Men 50m Freestyle: 1st David Thompson Bangor 22.57 2nd Curtis Coulter Bangor 22.67 3rd Isaac Fitzmaurice NAC 23.19

Women 200m IM: 1st Rebecca Reid Ards 2:15.34 2nd Molly Mayne Templeogue 2:16.39 3rd Eline Vik SNDN 2:19.39* / Caitriona Finlay Aer Lingus 2:21.90

Men 200m IM: 1st Brendan Hyland NCD 1:56.74 2nd Cillian Melly NCL 1:59.53 3rd Cadan McCarthy NCL 2:01.97

Women 4x50m Freestyle Relay: 1st Aer Lingus 1:45.82 2nd Ards 1:46.05 3rd Bangor 1:49.52

Men 4x50m Freestyle Relay: 1st Bangor 1:27.70 ISR 2nd NAC 1:35.51 3rd Sundays Well 1:37.13

*Denotes a foreign swimmer who receives a commemorative medal 

National Team Exhibition Relays:

Women 4x100m Freestyle Relay:

Seniors: Mona McSharry, Danielle Hill, Victoria Catterson, Erin Riordan 3:41.09 ISR

Juniors: Naomi Trait, Ele Donegan, Aisling Rowlands, Ellie McKibbin 3:48.21 IJR  

Men 4x100m Freestyle Relay:

Seniors: Shane Ryan, Jordan Sloan, Jack McMillan, Robbie Powell 3:10.19 ISR 

Juniors: Sean McNicholl, Eoin Corby, Oisin O’Rourke, Daniel Wiffen 3:22.02 IJR