August 24, 2021

Paralympics Ireland will be represented by five Para Swimmers at the Tokyo 2020 Paralympic Games.

The team includes World Championships medallists Ellen Keane and Nicole Turner, with Turner heading to her second Games and Keane to her fourth, having first represented Ireland at Beijing in 2008.

There are also three first time Paralympians on the squad: Patrick Flanagan, Barry McClements and Róisín Ní Ríain.

Patrick Flanagan, who grew up in Longford but lives in Sligo, narrowly missed out on a European Championship medal at Dublin 2018 and again in Portugal this May.

He will be hoping that he will be able to go one better and reach the podium in Tokyo.

Barry McClements is one of the strongest swimmers in the country and has been consistently excellent since he joined the Para Swimming squad post Rio 2016.

Róisín Ní Ríain is the new-comer to the squad and will be the youngest member of Team Ireland at the Paralympic Games.

The 16-year-old from Limerick announced herself on the world stage when she claimed a bronze medal at the recent European Championships on her first appearance at a major championships.

Team Ireland: Tokyo 2020 Paralympic Games; Para Swimming

Name - Club - County - Class

Barry McClements - Newtown Ards - Down - S9

Nicole Turner - NAC Dublin - Laois - S6

Róisín Ní Ríain - National Centre Limerick - Limerick - S13

Patrick Flanagan - NAC Dublin - Sligo - S6

Ellen Keane - NAC Dublin - Dublin - S9

Learn more about Para Swimming Classification via: Paralympics Ireland's explainer video.

To find out more about any of Ireland's Paralympic para swimmers, follow the links below:

Barry McClements

Ellen Keane

Nicole Turner

Patrick Flanagan

Roisin Ni Riain

You can also browse the Paralympics Ireland Tokyo 2020 Paralympic Games Guide.

Team Ireland Para Swimming Schedule

All swimming heats sessions at the Tokyo 2020 Paralympic Games begin at 1am Irish time and all swimming finals sessions begin at 9am Irish time.

Swimmers will compete in the heats each morning and their final will be the same day in the next finals session.

The latest confirmed schedule is below, with some of the later competitions not yet releasing full heat details.

Wednesday, August 25

1:06am Barry McClements - 400m Freestyle S9 Heat 2

FINAL 9:00am

2:24am Nicole Turner - 50m Freestyle S6 Heat 2

FINAL 10:46am

2:46am Roisin Ni Riain - 100m Butterfly S13 Heat 1

FINAL 11:38am

Thursday, August 26

2:49am Roisin Ni Riain - 100m Backstroke S13 Heat 2

FINAL 11:12am

3:05am Ellen Keane - 100m Breaststroke SB8 Heat 2

FINAL 11:40am

Friday, August 27

2:39am Roisin Ni Riain - 400m Freestyle S13 Heat 1

FINAL 11:33am

Saturday, August 28

1:07am Nicole Turner - 100m Breaststroke SB6 Heat 1

FINAL 9:07am

Monday, August 30

1:07am Barry McClements - 100m Backstroke S9 Heat TBC

FINAL 9:14am

1:42am Nicole Turner - 50m Butterfly S6 Heat TBC

FINAL 9:57am

2:52am Roisin Ni Riain - 200m IM SM13 Heat TBC

FINAL 11:42am

Wednesday, September 1

1:51am Barry McClements - 200m IM SM9 Heat TBC

FINAL 10:31am

2:00am Ellen Keane - 200m IM SM9 Heat TBC

FINAL 10:39am

2:23am Roisin Ni Riain - 100m Breaststroke SB13 Heat TBC

FINAL 11:08am

Thursday, September 2

1:33am Barry McClements - 100m Butterfly Heat TBC

FINAL 9:22am

Friday, September 3

1:19am Patrick Flanagan - 100m Backstroke S6 Heat TBC

FINAL 9:16am

To get the latest results and schedule information visit: Paralympic Schedule & Results | Tokyo 2020 Paralympics (

Keep up to date

Keep up to date

For all the latest news on Ireland's para swimmers at Tokyo 2020, follow Paralympics Ireland on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram, and bookmark their homepage.