August 04, 2018

Irish swimmers continued their good form as day 2 of the European Swimming Championships continued in Glasgow with both Brendan Hyland and Mona McSharry joining Shane Ryan in tonight’s finals session. 

Hyland progresses in eight place overall after his second fastest ever 200m Butterfly swim. The National Centre Dublin swimmer touched third in his heat in 1:57.55, just one tenth of a second off his Irish Record (1:57.44). Featuring in his third European Senior Championships, it is the first time the Tallaght native will swim an individual semi-final.

A delighted Hyland commented ‘It’s been a while coming, so I’m happy, I was aware my heat swims are always a bit iffy but I’m glad to get back out and attack it and see what I can do. It’s my first time making a semi-final, I think I’ll just enjoy the race, not think about times and try and make that final.’

World Junior Champion Mona McSharry will swim tonight’s 100m Breaststroke semi-final after clocking 1:08.53 in her heat. The 17-year-old is swimming her first European Championships as a senior athlete and will be looking to get close to her Irish Record of 1:07.10 to make tomorrow’s final.

Also in action this morning Athlone’s Robbie Powell made his first individual senior international debut in the 100m Freestyle where he touched third in his heat in 50.71, while Jordan Sloan warmed up for Monday’s 200m Freestyle touching in 50.34.

At 6.18pm Shane Ryan swims the 50m Backstroke Final. Ryan is ranked 4th going into the final after a 24.57 second swim in last night’s semi-final, however, the 24-year-old swam a best time of 24.32 in the heats and will be looking to lower that time to be in the mix for a medal.

LEN European Swimming & Diving Championships, 2nd - 12th August 2018, Glasgow, Scotland

Results Day 2 Heats:

Men’s 100m Freestyle

Jordan Sloan

H 50.34



Robbie Powell

H 50.71


Women’s 100m Breaststroke

Mona McSharry

H 1:08.53


Men’s 200m Butterfly

Brendan Hyland

H 1:57.55



Schedule Day 2 Finals:

100m Breaststroke SF

Mona McSharry



200m Butterfly SF

Brendan Hyland



50m Backstroke Final

Shane Ryan