July 03, 2018

A 15 strong Irish swimming team will begin competition from tomorrow (Wednesday), at the LEN European Junior Swimming Championships.  The team, led by Andy Reid and assisted by Steven Beckerleg (National Centre Dublin) and Johnny Powell (Athlone SC), will compete from the 4th – 8th July at the Mäkelänrinne Swimming Center in Helsinki, Finland.   A busy opening day will see ten Irish swimmers in action with 2017 semi-finalist at the event Niamh Coyne first up in the 50m Breaststroke. Also returning from 2017, Robbie Powell competes in the 50m Butterfly and Ellen Walshe in the 200m Butterfly 

Finn McGeever (400m Freestyle), along with Paddy Johnston (100m Backstroke), Victoria Catterson (100m Freestyle) and Ellen Cassidy (200m Backstroke) will be representing Ireland on the International stage for the first time. While Julia Knox and Amelia Kane competing in the 400m Individual Medley and Maria Godden in the 200m Backstroke all have experience from the 2017 European Youth Olympic Games. 

Speaking before the event Team Leader Andy Reid said “It is very exciting for Irish swimming to travel to this meet with a large team of athletes who have the willingness to focus their energy on what it takes to deliver their best performance when it matters. This team is all about being in control of the ‘controllables’ and they will stand up on day one of the meet knowing that they have been prepared well and are ready to race." 

The team are: Niamh Coyne (National Centre Dublin/Tallaght), Ellen Walshe (Templeogue SC), Rebecca Reid (Ards SC), Jack McMillan (Bangor SC), Robbie Powell (Athlone SC), Victoria Catterson (Ards SC), Finn McGeever (National Centre Limerick), Paddy Johnston (Ards SC), Julia Knox (Banbridge SC), Amelia Kane (Ards sC), Maria Godden (Kilkenny SC), Ellen Cassidy (Dolphin SC), Alfie Kelly (Dolphin SC), Cadan McCarthy (National Centre Limerick/Mallow Swans), Naomi Trait (Kilkenny SC). 

Press Releases will be issued daily. 

Day 1 Heats Schedule:

Women 50m Breaststroke                Niamh Coyne

Men 50m Butterfly                           Robbie Powell

Women 100m Freestyle                   Victoria Catterson

Men 400m Freestyle                        Finn McGeever

Women 200m Butterfly                    Ellen Walshe

10m Backstroke                               Paddy Johnston

Women 400m IM                              Julia Knox, Amelia Kane

Women 200m Backstroke                Maria Godden, Ellen Cassidy                              

Useful Info: