Day 5 Irish Summer National 2019

July 28, 2019

Swim Ireland’s Irish Summer Nationals came to a close in Dublin today. Ireland’s young swimmers have shown impressive form this week, with some great swims both at home and abroad. Mona McSharry gets in on the Irish Senior Record action beating her previous record (26.92) with cracking 26.62 in the 50m Butterfly! And Aer Lingus crack their own record in the Womens 400m Medley Relay. Catch up on tonight’s highlights below.

800m Freestyle

Freestyle ace Hannah O’Shea took home the first gold of the final day of competition sharing the top spot with commemorative gold medallist, Kate Hulford of Toronto. Leander swimmer, Éle Donegan (Leander) clocked 9:22.52 to earn herself the national title followed by Sligo’s Danielle Farrell. Denmark and Ealing swimmers Helena Bach and Phyllida Britton taking commemorative medals with the Ards swimmer Victoria Catterson taking the National gold in a time of 9:09.23. Jessika Robson and Aoife Doran went under the 10 minutes to claim gold and silver respectively in the 12-13 year olds, and Grace Hodgins of Trojan took the 14 year olds title in a time of 9:20.94.

The Wiffen twins took the top two spots in the boys 17&O final Daniel touching in 8:31.94 followed by brother Nathan in 8:38.71, and Denis Kilbride of New Ross. Dolphin swimmer Jack Cassin took gold in the 15 year olds touching in well under the 9 minute mark in 8:48.26. While Ben Lynch and Rory Grady taking home medals in the 15 year old in a close finish between the pair with Enniskillen swimmer edging in front in the final few meters to take the gold.

EC Waves swimmer Conor Hayes continued his freestyle dominance collecting commemorative gold in the 12-13 year olds 1500m Freestyle clocking an impressive 18:06.03. Killian O’Loughlin Brophy of Coolmines clocking in just behind the Australian to take the National title. It was a tight finish between Finn O’Neill and Evan Bailey with a little over a second between the two as O’Neill clinched the gold.

After winning the 100m Backstroke yesterday, Lauren Farr was hungry for more gold claiming the Girls 200m Backstroke with 4 seconds to spare (2:26.82). National title holder of last year’s event, Cora Rooney (Enniskillen) retained her title touching in 2:25.16 as did Templemore’s Charlotte Cullen dropping 4 seconds off her prelim time and was joined by Toronto’s Kate Hulford on top of the podium. Amelia Kane (16) and Maria Godden (16), both gold medallists already this week, and National title holders in this event, took gold in their age groups in 2:20.38 and Godden 2:18.52 respectively.

Evan Coulter (City of Belfast) and Conor Hartney (Limerick) claimed their first gold medals of the championships. Coulter clocking in just ahead of Evan Bailey while Hartney touching in a time of 2:18.60. Regular at the podium at this point, David Pau took the 12-13 year old final. A hugely impressive Neddie Irwin sailed into an 8 second lead to win gold with a time of 2:08.64, with Lane 2 swimmer Adam Geddis of Cookstown and fellow swimmer clocking in 2:16.75 or after. Sean Scannell dominating the 16 years age group to win in last year’s title in 2:04.98, bettered his time by 1.5 seconds to claim the 17 years & over title this year.

Marlin’s Mona McSharry showed her skilfulness in the 50m Butterfly once again beating her previous record setting a new Irish Senior record of 26.62 which got the crowd going at the NAC. Visitors from Denmark and Germany all clocking in the 26 seconds but proving no match for McSharry in the end.

Denmark’s Jonas Kistorp and Lausanne’s Alex Ogbonna claimed the top two spots in the Boys 50m Fly with John Higgins (UCD) taking the Irish gold in 24.82 all clocking within .5 of each other in a thrilling race.


Both of Denmark’s entries in both the Mens and Womens 400m Medley Relay touched in first and second. Ards team made up of Paddy Johnston, Morgan Berryman, Michael Hewitt and Finlay Stafford claimed the gold in a time of 3:56.45, with Aer Lingus and NAC just over the 4 minutes to also make the podium.

The womens final did not disappoint with a thrilling finish as Aer Lingus set out to beat their own Irish Senior record. They did just that re-writing the history books clocking 4:19.66 and adding another Irish Senior Record to the meet. The record-breaking team was made up of Caoimhe Quinn, Aisling Haughey, Lucy Thornton and Hannah McMenamin.

We’d like to extend a huge thank you to everyone involved in this week’s Irish Summer Nationals. Competitions like this would not be possible without our Officials and Volunteers who work tirelessly all year round, our swimmers, coaches, managers, parents, NAC Dublin and their staff and anyone who played their part in this competition.

Special thanks to our commentary team of Grainne Murphy, Niamh McDonnell, Andrew Bree who kept us updated and entertained throughout the weekend. Well done to Helen Desmond who was awarded her National Referee certificate during the weekend also.


Safe travels home and if you could take 5 minutes of your time to complete our survey we’d really appreciate it


Full results available here


For media queries about this event please contact