December 06, 2019

Team Ireland’s good form at the European Short Course Swimming Championships in Glasgow continued into day three this morning, as 50m Bronze medallist Mona McSharry and Niamh Coyne advanced to this evening’s semi-finals in the 100m Breaststroke.

Coyne took over a second off her best time touching in 1:06.12 to win her heat, while McSharry was second in her heat, her time of 1:05.50 the best she has swum since setting the Irish Record of 1:05.01 in 2017. The duo progress to the semi-finals in 8th and 12th place and will swim side by side in the first semi-final at 5.59pm.

They will be joined this evening by Shane Ryan who swims in the 100m Backstroke Final at 6.16pm.

Junior Eoin Corby continued his record-breaking streak with a new standard in the 100m Breaststroke. Corby broke the minute mark for the first time, winning his heat in 59.63. The 17-year-old has broken all three Irish Junior Breaststroke records in the past three days.

Darragh Greene was the best of the Irish in the Men’s 100m Breaststroke, touching in 59.11 while Liam Doyle finished his meet with a personal best of 1:01.12.

In the Men’s 200m Individual Medley, both Brendan Hyland (1:58.12) and Cillian Melly (2:01.14) swam lifetime bests while Jack McMillan touched in 2:01.40.

James Brown, swimming for Loughborough University, set a new Irish Record in that event just last night at the Swim England Short Course Championships, he broke McMillan’s record of 1:58.36 in 1:56.91.

Also, in action this morning Curtis Coulter swam an impressive 22.68 in the 50m Freestyle, his best time in the event in over three years. Molly Mayne, the youngest competitor in the 100m Breaststroke finished sixth in her heat in 1:09.36 and Amelia Kane swam a personal best of 2:14.38 in the 200m Butterfly

A further press release will issue following this evening’s finals.

2019 LEN European SC Swimming Championships (Glasgow)

Day 3 – Friday 6th December l Heats Schedule

Women 100m Breaststroke

Niamh Coyne


Molly Mayne


Mona McSharry


Men 50m Freestyle

Curtis Coulter


Men 100m Breaststroke

Eoin Corby

59.63 IJR

Liam Doyle


Darragh Greene


Women 200m Butterfly

Amelia Kane


Men 200m IM

Brendan Hyland


Jack McMillan


Cillian Melly


Day 3 – Friday 6th December l Finals Schedule

Women 100m Breaststroke SF

Niamh Coyne


Mona McSharry


Men 100m Backstroke Final

Shane Ryan