Day 1 Highlights

July 05, 2018

It was a close finish for our youngest competitors in the Boys 200m Freestyle Final (11-12yrs) this afternoon, between Ards’ native Sebastian Berryman and Limerick Swimming Club’s Denis O’Brien, touching within 15 hundredths of a second to each other. However, it was the Berryman who pipped the gold in a time of 2.25.74. Michael Hussey from Galway came in just behind the boys to touch third in a time of 2.27.86. The 13 year old final was won by Martin Mitchell from Galway in a time of 2.19.26. Ben Rafferty (Newry & Mourne) claimed gold in the 14yrs 200m Freestyle Final in a time of 2.11.93.

To close the Boys 200m Freestyle Finals, there was one, two finish for the boys from Templeogue in the 15 & over 200m Boys Freestyle Final, with Alastair McKinlay claiming gold in a time of 2:00:68, closely followed by team mate Luke De Lacey, who claimed silver in a time of 2:01:82.

Seconds dropped from heats to finals across the Girls 200m Butterfly Finals. Alana Burns-Atkin from Banbridge improved her time by over 8 seconds to win gold in the Girls 200m Butterfly 11-12yrs Final in a time of 2.50.65. Likewise, Lisa Henry dropped nearly 7 seconds to touch first in the 15 & over category to win in a time of 2.42.34.

 Adam Nolan (Tallaght) was ahead of the pack winning the 15 & Over Boys 100m Backstroke in a time of 1.02.56. The Girls 15 & Over 50m Breaststroke finished the first finals session of the competition, with Castlebars’ Heather Fadden being crowned the champion in a time of 36.13, with Abby Wall (Clonmel) and Emma Begley (Tuam) following closely for second and third, respectively.

Ind218 Day 1 Session 2 Results

 Session 4 Final Highlights

The Girls 200m Freestyle finalists opened this evenings session here at UL. Grace Davison (Ards), Lily Sheehy (Asgard), Robyn Dalton (NAC) and Katie Dunne (St. Fiacc’s) comfortably took gold in each of their age groups stretching away from their competitors by 2 seconds or more to be crowned the 200m Freestyle Champions in their respective age groups. Grace posted a time of 2.22.15, Lily touched in 2.20.89, Robyn winning her age group in a time of 2.19.37 and Katie won the open age group in a time of 2.12.50.

Fillip Halaczkiewicz from The Curragh Military SC took a whopping 11 seconds off his heat swim to become the 200m Butterfly Champion (13yrs) in a time of 2.45.26. Christian Kenny-Carrol (St. Fiacc’s), shaved 3.31 seconds off his heat swim to win the open final of the event in a time of 2.24.64. Declan McGeown (Banbridge) touched next in the open final to claim silver in a time of 2.28.41, with Longfords’ Daniel Madigan touching third in a time of 2.32.26.

Ards swimmer Grace Davison was back in action after her gold medal winning performance in the 200m Freestyle to claim yet another gold in the 11-12yrs 100m Backstroke Final in a very impressive time of 1.11.06. Lucy McKnight from Larne SC posted a similar time of 1.11.27 to win the 14yr age group final. The 15 & over 100m Backstroke final was action packed, all girls all hungry for the win. However, Katy Dunne continued her winning streak after the 200m Freestyle to obtain her second Champion title of the night, touching first in a time of 1.06.71.

The Boys in the 15 & Over 50m Breaststroke put on a good show for the spectators in the arena, with all finalists finishing within .43 of a second to each other. Billy Clarke from Shark SC managed to edge forward, extending out as far as possible for the finish to claim the gold medal in a time of 33.29 seconds. The Girls 400m Individual Medley (IM) finals closed the evenings finals, with a gutsy performance in particular from Lean Duane (Mallow Swans) who finished strong in a time of 5.31.32 to become the 15 & Over 400m IM. 

Irish National Division 2 Session 4 Finals