July 05, 2018

Ireland’s Robbie Powell and Jack McMillan have advanced to the 100m Freestyle semi-finals on Day 2 of the European Junior Swimming Championships in Helsinki. The duo were also part of a record breaking relay team this morning. 

Swimming in the heats of the 100m Freestyle Powell clocked 50.81 to progress in 12th place overall. McMillan goes through in 51.16 after touching 7th in his heat. Both will be in action in the second semi-final at 3.14pm (IRL).

Powell and McMillan were later part of an Irish Record Breaking Relay Team. They were joined by Maria Godden an Victoria Catterson with the quartet combining for a time of 3:37.86, knocking three seconds off the previous record set at the World Schools Games in May.

Ahead of the relay today Victoria Catterson had retuned for the 400m Freestyle heats where she clocked 4:25.62. Finn McGeever was close to his best in the 200m Butterfly, finishing in 2:03.71. After three swims yesterday in the 50m Breaststroke Niamh Coyne returned for the 200m event where she swam 2:33.01. The morning’s final individual events saw Cadan McCarthy (200IM) and Alfie Kelly (1500m Freestyle) make their first appearances at the Championships.

July 05, 2018

Day 1 Heats/Finals Results:

100m Freestyle           Robbie Powell                    H 50.81

                                   Jack McMillan                    H 51.16

400m Freestyle          Victoria Catterson             H 4:25.62

200m Butterfly           Finn McGeever                  H 2:03.71

200m Breaststroke     Niamh Coyne                     H 2:33.01

200m IM                     Cadan McCarthy                H 2:08.64

1500m Freestyle         Alfie Kelly                           H 16:27.32

4 x 100m Mixed FTR   Ireland                                H 3:37.86 ISR


Day 2 Finals Schedule:

100m Freestyle SF     Robbie Powell, Jack McMillan           3.14pm (IRL)

Team: Niamh Coyne (National Centre Dublin/Tallaght), Ellen Walshe (Templeogue SC), Rebecca Reid (Ards SC), Jack McMillan (Bangor SC), Robbie Powell (Athlone SC), Victoria Catterson (Ards SC), Finn McGeever (National Centre Limerick), Paddy Johnston (Ards SC), Julia Knox (Banbridge SC), Amelia Kane (Ards SC), Maria Godden (Kilkenny SC), Ellen Cassidy (Dolphin SC), Alfie Kelly (Dolphin SC), Cadan McCarthy (National Centre Limerick/Mallow Swans), Naomi Trait (Kilkenny SC).