February 23, 2020

Ards Swimming Club claimed the Dave McCullagh Memorial Trophy as the McCullagh International ended in Bangor this afternoon. The four-day meet was run to replicate the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games with heats in the evenings and finals in the mornings. The competition attracted a number of Irish and British stars as both countries gear up for Olympic Trials in April.

After a 100m Backstroke Irish Record yesterday, Larne’s Danielle Hill equalled her 50m Freestyle Irish record of 25.29 to take gold ahead of Marlin’s Mona McSharry (25.83) and Maria Godden (26.78) of Kilkenny. Cookstown’s Calum Bain won the Men’s 50m Freestyle in 22.88 adding to 50m Butterfly gold from Saturday.

McSharry was back in the pool for the women’s 50m Breaststroke final where she closed her meet with another silver medal in 31.66. Loughborough’s Sarah Vasey took the win in 31.12.

Adam Peaty continued his dominance of the 50m Breaststroke with a 27.01 second swim to claim gold. Stirling’s Ross Murdoch posted 27.48 for silver while 200m Breaststroke champion James Wilby was third in 27.72.

Luke Greenbank won his second Backstroke gold in the 200m Final in style this morning. The Loughborough swimmer cruised to victory in 1:57.51, the only swimmer under two-minutes and the second fastest time in the world this year. Larne’s Conor Ferguson was second in 2:01.59 with National Centre Dublin’s Sean Scannell completing the podium in 2:04.20. City of Glasgow’s Katie Shanahan won the women’s event in 2:14.06.

Stirling’s Duncan Scott doubled up on 100m Butterfly and 200m Individual Medley wins to close his campaign with four gold medals. Scott held off Edward Mildred (53.04) and Brendan Hyland (53.96) in the 100m Butterfly in 52.84. In the 200m Individual Medley, Scott got the win in 2:00.05, Loughborough’s Joe Litchfield just .28 behind for silver in 2:00.33

Commonwealth Games Champion Alys Thomas added 100m Butterfly gold to her 200m in 59.23, one of only two simmers to break one minute, Charlotte Atkinson the other in 59.36. Loughborough team-mates Abbie Wood and Siobhan Marie O’Connor battled for gold in the women’s 200m Individual Medley Final with Wood coming out on top in 2:12.45 ahead of O’Connor’s 2:12.83.

Swansea University’s Daniel Jervis claimed his third gold in the Men’s 400m Freestyle Final in an impressive three minutes 49.98 seconds, Jervis had already won 800m and 1500m Gold. Ards’ Amelia Kane completed the same sweep as Jervis winning the women’s 400m Freestyle Final in 4:23.54.

In today’s junior events, Chelsea and Westminster’s Edward Whittles won 200m Individual Medley gold in 2:14.53 ahead of Derwentside’s Thomas Maskell (2:17.82). Whittles topped the podium again in the 200m Breaststroke in 2:34.55, Benji Cummings of Swilly Seals just behind in 2:35.62. Scotland’s Stefan Krawiec then won the men’s 200m Butterfly ahead of Whittles (2:17.78) in 2:15.61.

Ards’ Grace Davison claimed her fourth and fifth gold medals of the meet in the girls 200m Freestyle and 200m Backstroke. In a fantastic battle with Templemore’s Rosie Whitten, Davison touched in 2:15.52 in the 200m Freestyle with Whitten just behind in 2:16.04. In the 200m Backstroke, the 13-year-old clocked 3:30.88 ahead of City of Derry’s Maeve McClean (2:35.54).

Jon Rudd, National Performance Director said, "This last four days of competition has provided all of the athletes here with an excellent racing platform into their upcoming Olympic Trials, whether that be our Irish version (1st – 5th April) or the British version in the weeks ahead. The environment for racing in Bangor is first class and the format of the competition along with the slick and professional operation of it could not be better for what coaches and athletes are looking for at this stage of the season. Irish athletes now have approximately five weeks into the Irish Open Championships, where our National Teams for the 2020 Olympic Games, the European Championships and the European Junior Championships will be determined, with an element of our Performance programme taking one last opportunity to race before then at the Edinburgh International Meet (12th – 15th March). Swim Ireland are in a good place right now and if supporters of Irish swimming haven't got their travel plans in place for the Olympic Trials at the NAC in April, they should do so, as it will not be one to miss!"

Results Day 4 Finals

Men 50m Freestyle: 1st C Bain Cookstown 22.88 2nd J Parkinson Chelsea & Westminster 22.99 3rd C Coulter Ards 23.44

Women 50m Freestyle: 1st D Hill Larne 25.29 2nd M McSharry Marlins 25.83 3rd M Godden Kilkenny 22.88

Boys 12-14 200m IM: 1st E Whittles Chelsea & Westminster 2:14.53 2nd T Maskell Derwentside 2:17.82 3rd S Krawiec Scotland 2:17.84

Men 50m Breaststroke: 1st A Peaty Loughborough 27.01 2nd R Murdoch Stirling 27.48 3rd J Wilby Loughborough 27.72

Women 50m Breaststroke: 1st S Vasey Loughborough 31.12 2nd M McSharry Marlins 31.66 3rd M Renshaw Loughborough 32.57

Girls 12/13 200m Freestyle: 1st G Davison Ards 2:15.52 2nd R Whitten Templemore 2:16.04 3rd A Byrnes Limerick 2:17.21

Men 200m Backstroke: 1st L Greenbank Loughborough 1:57.51 2nd C Ferguson Larne 2:01.59 3rd S Scannell National Centre Dublin 2:04.20

Women 200m Backstroke: 1st K Shanahan Scotland 2:14.06 2nd Ellie Turner Perth City 2:16.48 3rd M Godden Kilkenny 2:19.18

Boys 12-14 200m Breaststroke: 1st E Whittles Chelsea & Westminster 2:34.55 2nd B Cummings Swilly Seals 2:35.62 3rd Z Black Lurgan 2:43.99

Men 100m Butterfly: 1st D Scott Stirling 52.84 2nd E Mildred 53.04 3rd B Hyland National Centre Dublin 53.96

Women 100m Butterfly: 1st A Thomas Swansea 59.23 2nd C Atkinson Loughborough 59.36 3rd G Melbourne-Smith Wales 1:02.47

Girls 12/13 200m Backstroke: 1st G Davison Ards 2:30.88 2nd M McClean City of Derry 2:35.54 3rd Z Quigley Ards 2:36.67

Men 200m IM: 1st D Scott Stirling 2:00.05 2nd J Litchfield Loughborough 2:00.33 3rd M Szaranek Stirling 2:04.16

Women 200m IM: 1st A Wood Loughborough 2:12.45 2nd SM O’Connor Loughborough 2:12.83 3rd H Miley Aberdeen 2:15.76

Boys 12-14 200m Butterfly: 1st S Krawiec Scotland 2:15.61 2nd E Whittles Chelsea & Westminster 2:17.78 3rd L McGee Sunderland 2:19.80

Men 400m Freestyle: 1st D Jervis Swansea 3:49.98 2nd M Litchfield Loughborough 3:51.46 3rd S Milne Perth City 3:54.80.

Women 400m Freestyle: 1st A Kane Ards 4:23.54 2nd R Bethel Bangor 4:24.09 3rd V Catterson Ards 4:28.84