Day 2: Irish National Division 2 2019

July 12, 2019

Friday July 12, 2019

Day 2: Session 6

The first medals of day two were heat declared winners Denis O Brien (Limerick), Conor Twomey (Dolphin), Aindriu Lynam (Athlone), Alan Dzaei (Longford) and Niall Carter in the Boys 11&O 1500 meter Freestyle. Both heats were well contested, Gillespie edged out in front with 19 lengths to go leaving Cian Smith to chase while Niall Carter (Castlebar) lead in the second heat with an impressive time of 17:05.57.

It was a close finish for our girls this morning in the 100m Freestyle with Aoife Byrnes (Limerick) taking the win in the 11-12yrs to kick start the morning finals. The 13 year-old 100m freestyle was won by Jennifer Hynes (Templeogue) in an extremely close finish with Aoife Lyons touching in 200th of a second after Jennifer, Naoise Allen (Viking) in the 14 years age group. After winning the Girls 200m Freestyle yesterday, Aoife Dirrane claimed her second medal of the competition for Laser in closely contested top 3. Like Aoife, Sorcha claimed her second medal in the same events in a time of 1:00.43.

The Boys 100m Breaststroke was a loud one, with the crowd cheering on all of their swimmers! There were medals for Moro Fredrik (Athlone) 1:26.16 and Lewis Gray (Banbridge) in a time of 1:20.02. Adam Murphy (Castlebar) claimed his second medal of the event after winning gold in the 200m Freestyle yesterday, and Milo O Connor (Athlone) completed the event ahead of the pack of 16 year olds in a time of 1:11.08. It was Tuam swimmer Daragh Gormley who dominated the 15yrs race in a comfortable time of 1:16.06 to claim gold ahead of Evan Reilly and Cian McCormack. Event 13, Girls 15&O 50m Butterfly was claimed by Lille-May Ruddy Portadown just under the 30 second mark (29.95).

The previous events were also loud, and the first relays of the championship raised the roof of the UL Arena. The Boys 11-14 200m Freestyle Relay crown went to the Kingdom, followed by Ennis and Athlone. The Kingdom team was made up of Phelim Carroll, Rory Boyd, Padraig O Halloran and Cian Mason.

The Girls 15&O 200m Freestyle Relay followed the boys with just as much excitement and anticipation. The girls from NAC took the gold with a team made up of Maya Blanco-Morrissey, Millie Murphy, Robyn Dalton, Cliona Colvin, and Athlone took the silver and Shark the bronze.


Session 8

At the halfway mark it was tightly contested between the two Waterford club swimmers Aoife Gore (Waterford Crystal) in lane 4 and Ciara Shiels (Splashworld Sharks) in lane 5. However, Ciara was first of the pair to hit the timing pads in the Girls 11&O 1500m Freestyle after stretching to a 1 length lead over Aoife in an enduring battle. In each age category the results were as follows; 11-12 Hannah Poynton (Trojan), 13yrs Rebecca Friel (Aura Dundalk), 14yrs Emily Dore (Askeaton), 15yrs Aoife Kennedy (Splashworld Sharks), Ciara Shiels (Splashworld Sharks).

Day 2 afternoon finals kicked off with the Boys 100m Freestyle. Denis O Brien (Limerick) stormed home to win the boys 11-12yrs to add to his medal tally of the weekend. In the 13yrs age group John Tuohy (Ennis) took his second gold of the competition after winning the Boys 200m Freestyle Final yesterday. Adam Murphy (Castlebar) was the only swimmer to clock in under 1 minute (59.09) in the 14yrs. There were wins for Kuba Krawczan (Laois Marlins) in the 15yrs age group and Daniel Collins (Celtic Waves) in the 16&Oyrs age group (54.32).

The Girls 100m Breaststroke finals once again did not disappoint the supporters in the stands. Katie Cunningham of Dolphin claimed a gold medal in the 11-12 age group final touching in a time of 1:25.15. The roars came in as Maya Niblock (Larne) claimed the 13yrs title and in a similar fashion Lily May Ryan (Kingdom) in the 14yrs clinched it (1:22.59). Holly Woodside (Larne) came out on top of the 15yr olds and Megan Gellately (Portadown) cruised comfortably to a win in the 16yrs&Over to finish this event in a time of (1:16.86).

Paddy McPartlan (Sligo) took the win in the Boys 50m Butterfly Final in an impressive time of 27.22 to hold off Cork’s Sean Slattery (Fermoy) and Mark Ryan (Limerick). The relays got the crowd on their feet again with Templeogue taking the gold medal in the Girls 14 & under 200m Freestyle Relay and Castlebar taking the win for the Boys 15 & over 200m Freestyle Relay. Silver went to Slaney Sharks and Bronze to Larne in the girls, and Tallaght then Shark in the Boys events.


Templeogue Team: Maria Nasonov, Mia Randles, Eva Walshe, Jennifer Hynes

Castlebar Team: Niall Carter, Conn McNamara, Cian Donohoe, Tommy Huang


See all results here

Competition continues tomorrow until Sunday!


For queries about this event please contact