December 05, 2019

Shane Ryan became Ireland’s fourth finalist in just two days at the European Short Course Swimming Championships in Glasgow tonight. Ryan advanced to tonight’s semi-final from this morning’s heats in a new Irish Record of 50.45 and was just on that time tonight winning the first semi-final in 50.48 to automatically qualify for the final. The second semi-final was a faster affair with three swimmer’s clocking times faster than Ryan leaving him fourth ranked for tomorrow’s final.

Speaking after the race Ryan said ‘It’s always good to get back, you’ll definitely feel a bit different from race to race and I felt a little bit heavier tonight, but I did the job. I didn’t really swim it like I wanted to, but I got in, got to the next stage, I’m fourth in.’

Russia’s Kliment Koleshnikov topped the rankings once again in the event in 49.57, the only swimmer under the 50 second mark.

In the 200m Freestyle Final Bangor team-mates Jack McMillan and Jordan Sloan went head to head in lanes seven and eight. As was the case this morning, McMillan was the quicker of the two, touching just outside the Irish Record of 1:43.18 he swam this morning in 1:43.69 for seventh place, a second fastest time ever in a first senior international final for the 19-year-old. Jordan Sloan, who also represented Ireland in the 200m Freestyle Final the last edition of these championships, clocked 1:44.56 for eighth place.

Lithuania’s Danas Rapsys took gold in the event in 1:41.41 while Great Britain’s Duncan Scott was the silver medal winner in 1:41.42.

Irish swimmers will look to continue their good form on Friday as eleven take to the blocks in individual events. 50m Breaststroke Bronze medallist Mona McSharry goes in the 100m Breaststroke with Niamh Coyne and Molly Mayne. McSharry was fifth in the final of this event in 2017. Curtis Coulter makes his individual debut in the 50m Freestyle. Darragh Greene, Eoin Corby and Liam Doyle are all in for the final Breaststroke event, the 100m. Amelia Kane will swim the 200m Butterfly, while Brendan Hyland and Cillian Melly join Jack McMillan in the 200m Individual Medley.

Press releases will be issued daily.