Ryan sets new Irish standard for 50m Freestyle

September 10, 2021

Ireland's Shane Ryan on Thursday night set a new Irish Senior Record in the 25m pool at Match 5 of the 2021 International Swimming League.

Finishing second in the Men's 50m Freestyle, he clocked 21.37s. He set the previous short course record - 21.41s - in December 2019.

Ryan also won the Men's 50m Backstroke Final and led out his team Toronto Titans to win the Men's 4x100 Medley Relay.

Toronto Titans top the table with a 50pt lead over DC Trident going into Friday night's Day 2 of Match 5.

Larne's Danielle Hill was also in action. This is Danielle Hill's first International Swimming League season and on Thursday she helped Team Iron land a valuable 10 pts for fourth in the Women's 4x100m Freestyle Relay.

Friday night's second leg of Match 5 begins at 19:03 Irish time. Hill’s Team Iron and Ryan’s Toronto Titans will also be in action in Match 6, which takes places across September 16-17. In that match, they race against Cali Condors and New York Breakers.

Watch ISL LIVE: isl.global

Get results: Omega Live Timing

Track records: Irish Swimming Records

About International Swimming League

Now in its third year, the ISL is a professional swimming league, bringing 320 swimmers from 50 countries to Naples, Italy.

Athletes train and compete with their team mates, all based in Naples. For Danielle Hill and Shane Ryan this is an opportunity to train and compete with the world's best.

Athletes are split across 10 teams; Cali Condors (California), Team Iron (Budapest), Tokyo Frog Kings, London Roar, DC Trident (Washington DC), New York Breakers, Toronto Titans, LA Current, Aqua Centurions (Italy) and Energy Standard (Ukraine).

The teams will face off against each other in a series of 10 matches from August 26 to September 30.

There is then a play-off phase in November, which will bring together the top eight ISL Clubs to compete for a spot in the ISL Final.

The ISL Grand Final is set to take place at the end of December or early January 2022, when the ISL Champions will be crowned.

Find the schedule at: Matches Archive - ISL