May 06, 2021

It has been an incredible three weeks for Ireland's aquatic athletes as we now have four swimmers, five para-swimmers and two divers that bit closer to being on Team Ireland at the Tokyo 2021 Olympic and Paralympic Games this summer!

Let's take stock and also look at what happens now for those who have not hit the times and results needed for consideration just yet.


Following the FINA Diving World Cup in Japan, two places have been qualified for Ireland in diving at the Tokyo 2021 Olympic Games:

  • Women's 10m Platform (Tanya Watson)
  • Men's 3m Springboard (Oliver Dingley

Tanya Watson and Oliver Dingley achieved Top 18 finishes at the final qualifying event to gain automatic qualification.

Ciara McGing, who finished 23rd in 10m Platform, could still be allocated a qualifying spot as some of the Top 18 finishers in her event had already qualified for the Olympic Games.


Following the Trials, we have five FINA 'A' Olympic Qualification times in individual events and they are as follows:

  • Shane Ryan - 100m Backstroke
  • Darragh Greene - 100m Breaststroke
  • Darragh Greene - 200m Breaststroke
  • Mona McSharry - 100m Breaststroke
  • Daniel Wiffen - 800m Freestyle

Ten athletes achieved at least one time within 1.5% of the FINA 'A' Olympic Qualification time and will have a further qualification opportunity in June. They are:

  • Jack McMillan
  • Niamh Coyne
  • Nicholas Quinn
  • Eoin Corby
  • Danielle Hill
  • Brendan Hyland
  • Calum Bain
  • Conor Ferguson
  • Jordan Sloan
  • Finn McGeever

Five relays achieved a time to allow them to be considered for selection to the LEN European Championships in Budapest in May, which will be our final qualification attempt for such relays to feature at the 2021 Olympic Games:

  • Men's 4x100m Medley Relay
  • Women's 4x100m Medley Relay
  • Men's 4x200m Freestyle Relay
  • Women's 4x100m Freestyle Relay
  • Mixed 4x100m Medley Relay

Para Swimming

Paralympics Ireland have secured four slots thus far (3 female and 1 male to date) for this summer’s Paralympic Games in Tokyo

Currently, five athletes have achieved Tokyo Minimum Qualification Standards (MQS' - the Para equivalent to the FINA 'A' standard). Four slots have been secured to date. Selection for slots will take place in June

  • Ellen Keane - (3 events)
  • Nicole Turner - (5 events)
  • Barry McClements - (4 events)
  • Roisin Ni Riain - (5 events)
  • Patrick Flanagan - (1 event)

For more information visit: