December 14, 2019

Five more Irish Records fell as the Irish Short Course National Championships continued in Dublin today. Irish swimmers have now broken 26 records in the past 3 days with a total of 46 in the past two weeks.

Dubliner’s Ellen Walshe and Brendan Hyland lead the assault tonight with senior records in the 100m Butterfly. Eoin Corby and Paddy Johnston added three junior records to the tally.

After smashing the 50m Butterfly Irish Record last night, Templeogue’s Ellen Walshe flew to a new standard in the 100m Butterfly Final and became the first Irish swimmer to break 59 seconds in the event in 58.81. Walshe broke Shauna O’Brien’s 2015 record of 59.10.

In the Men’s event, European Championships finalist over 200m Butterfly, Brendan Hyland, broke his own national record of 51.54, set in 2018, to take gold in 51.38. It was Hyland’s second record this week after breaking the 200m Individual Medley standard on Thursday. In the same event, Ards’ Paddy Johnston added to 50m and 200m Butterfly Irish Junior Records with a time of 53.55.

Eoin Corby broke his second and third Irish Junior Records of the weekend in tonight’s 100m Individual Medley and 50m Breaststroke Finals. Corby already holds all three Irish Junior Breaststroke Records and tonight moved onto the IM breaking Conor Ferguson’s 2017 time of 55.41 in 55.10 for the silver medal. Corby’s brother Alan was first home to claim gold in 54.57.

In the 50m Breaststroke Corby lowered his own record of 27.50, set at last week’s European Championships, to 27.29 to claim another silver medal. Darragh Greene was crowned 50m Breaststroke Champion in 26.83.

Larne’s Danielle Hill collected another title in today’s 200m Backstroke Final. Hill, already national champion in the 100m Backstroke and 50m and 100m Freestyle touched in 2:10.99 for her fourth gold medal in three days.

National Centre Dublin’s Sean Scannell out touched team-mate Rory McEvoy for gold in the Men’s 200m Backstroke Final, Scannell clocked 1:57.13 ahead of McEvoy’s 1:58.11

Amelia Kane added the 400m Freestyle national title to yesterday’s 800m title. The 16-year-old Ards swimmer was impressive in 4:14.11, sprinting past silver medallist Maria Godden (4:14.88) in the last 25 metres to claim the gold. In a close Men’s Final National Centre Dublin’s Robbie Powell touched for gold in 3:50.06 just ahead of Finn McGeever (National Centre Limerick) in 3:50.57.

Also, in action today, Ards’ Rebecca Reid added the 100m Individual Medley title to 200m IM gold from Thursday in 1:02.28 and Niamh Coyne of National Centre Dublin took 50m Breaststroke gold in 30.81.

Earlier today, the Bangor quartet of Jordan Sloan, Jack McMillan, Emma Reid and Rachel Bethel topped the podium in the Mixed 200m Medley Relay in 1:46.26 followed by Larne (1:47.64) and Ards (1:47.97)

Competition continues tomorrow.

Day 3 Results:

Women 100m IM: 1st Tina Tang Shanghai 1:01.60* / Rebecca Reid Ards 1:02.38 2nd Aisling Haughey Aer Lingus 1:03.59 3rd Bethy Firth Ards 1:03.43* / Molly Mayne Templeogue 1:03.65

Men 100m IM: 1st Alan Corby National Centre Limerick 54.57 2nd Eoin Corby National Centre Limerick 55.10 3rd Tianyu Zhou Shanghai 56.98* / Uiseann Cooke National Centre Limerick 57.75

Women 400m Freestyle: 1st Amelia Kane Ards 4:14.11 2nd Maria Godden Kilkenny 4:14.88 3rd Naomi Trait Kilkenny 4:16.84

Men 400m Freestyle: 1st Robbie Powell National Centre Dublin 4:50.06 2nd Cillian Melly National Centre Limerick 3:50.57 3rd Daniel Wiffen Lisburn 3:53.00

Women 100m Butterfly: 1st Ellen Walshe Templeogue 58.81 ISR 2nd Andrea Cox Lisburn 1:01.95 3rd Ellie McKibbin Ards 1:02.48

Men 100m Butterfly: 1st Brendan Hyland National Centre Dublin 51.33 2nd Jordan Sloan Bangor 52.08 3rd Jack McMillan 3rd 52.19

Women 50m Breaststroke: 1st Niamh Coyne National Centre Dublin 30.81 / Tina Tang Shanghai 30.75* 2nd Aisling Haughey Aer Lingus 31.50 3rd Rebecca Reid Ards 32.39

Men 50m Breaststroke: 1st Darragh Greene National Centre Dublin 26.83 2nd Eoin Corby National Centre Limerick 27.29 IJR 3rd Uiseann Cooke National Centre Limerick 27.90

Women 200m Backstroke: 1st Danielle Hill Larne 2:10.99 2nd Amelia Kane Ards 2:13.27 3rd Caoimhe Quinn Aer Lingus 2:13.32

Men 200m Backstroke: 1st Sean Scannell National Centre Dublin 1:57.13 2nd Rory McEvoy National Centre Dublin 1:58.11 3rd Liam Custer Sundays Well 1:59.61

Mixed 200m Medley Relay: 1st Bangor 1:46.26 2nd Larne 1:47.64 3rd Ards 1:47.97  

*Denotes a foreign swimmer who receives a commemorative medal