National and Regional Squad Programme

National and Regional Squad Programme

A targeted National Squad Programme is a key tactic in achieving the Performance objectives for 2020 and through to 2024. The Regional Squad Programme sits directly below the National Programme and is fully aligned to the National Programme in terms of principles and content.

Athletes are selected to join the National or Regional Squad for a full season based on their results in the previous season as outlined in each document. 

The 2018/2019 programmes and selection criteria are available below

National Squad Programme 2018/2019 (24/07/2018) 

Regional Squad Programme 2018/2019 (25/07/2018)


The 2019/2020 programmes and selection criteria are available below 

National Squad Programme 2019/2020 (updated 15/07/2019)

Regional Squad Programme 2019/2020 (updated 15/07/2019)

For the National Squad programme, it is recognised that:

  • Athletes should be ‘On Track’ in regards to either the 2020 or the 2024 Olympic Games and should be differentiated as such
  • Particular athletes will be identified for targeted investment, support, and value-add opportunities dependent on their ‘On Track’ status and the ‘fit-for-purpose’ nature of their Daily Performance Environments (DPE’s)
  • All National Squad members must be fully committed to an uncompromised and comprehensive training/coaching programme in preparation for peak performance in the relevant annual Swim Ireland international benchmark competition and the Trials for that event 

National Squad 2018/2019

Performance (PE) Cohort
Calum Bain Stirling Bradley Hay
Conor Ferguson National Centre (Dublin) Ben Higson
Darragh  Greene National Centre (Dublin) Ben Higson
Brendan Hyland National Centre (Dublin) Ben Higson
Mona McSharry Marlins Grace Meade
Jordan Sloan National Centre (Dublin) Ben Higson
Performance Pathway (PP) Cohort
Scarlett Armstrong Ards Davy Johnston
Sadbh Bailey New Ross Fran Ronan
James Brown Loughborough Andi Manley
Victoria Catterson Ards Davy Johnston
Uiseann Cooke National Centre (Limerick) John Szaranek
Eoin Corby National Centre (Limerick) John Szaranek
Niamh Coyne National Centre (Dublin) Ben Higson
Edel Daly National Centre (Limerick) John Szaranek
Maria Godden Kilkenny Mikey McCarthy
Ben Griffin National Centre (Dublin) Ben Higson
Ethan Hansen Mount Kelly Emma Collings-Barnes
Michael Hewitt Ards Davy Johnston
Danielle Hill Larne Peter Hill
Paddy Johnston Ards Davy Johnston
Amelia Kane Ards Davy Johnston
Alfie Kelly Newcastle Ryan Livingstone
Julia Knox Banbridge Davy Wilson
Cadan McCarthy National Centre (Limerick) John Szaranek
Ellie McCartney Enniskillen Aaron Rickhuss
Finn McGeever National Centre (Limerick) John Szaranek
Ellie McKibbin Ards Davy Johnston
Jack McMillan Bangor Paul Dennis
Jeremy O'Connor National Centre (Limerick) John Szaranek
Cara Osing Templeogue Brian Sweeney
Robbie Powell National Centre (Dublin) Ben Higson
Rebecca Reid Ards Davy Johnston
Aisling Rowlands Trojan Jonathon Preston
Naomi Trait Kilkenny Mikey McCarthy
Ellen Walshe Templeogue Brian Sweeney
Ben Woodside Larne Peter Hill

National Squad Contacts

Dr Jon Rudd

Dr Jon Rudd

National Performance Director

+353 86 780 8734

Andrew Reid

Andrew Reid

National Performance Pathway Manager

+353 86 467 8125

Niamh McDonnell

Niamh McDonnell

Performance Manager

+353 86 775 0775